Meetings at Four Points by Sheraton Bolzano

Via Bruno Buozzi, 35  •  39100 Bolzano  •  IT  •  Phone: ‎(39)(0471) 1950000
Contact: Matthias Perathoner,, Director of Sales and Marketing, ‎+39 0471 1950 012


Unesco World Heritage

Formed about 260 million years ago, the Dolomites, also known as the Pale Mountains, in 2009 have been declared World Heritage by the UNESCO Commission.

This area covers about of 231,000 hectares, divided between the provinces of Trento, Bolzano, Belluno, Pordenone and Udine and includes: Pelmo and Croda da Lago, Pale di San Martino, San Lucano, Dolomites Belluno, Feltre Peaks , Friulian Dolomites and Oltre Piave, Northern Dolomites, Puez-Geisler, Schlern, Rosengarten and Latemar, Bletterbach and the Brenta Dolomites.

The Three Peaks (photo from Alto Adige Marketing, Helmuth Rier) are the most famous peaks and are part of the Sesto Dolomites. They are considered among the most beautiful and famous natural wonders by fans of mountaineering.

The Geological Formation

Natural Architectural

It was the French geologist Déodat de Dolomieu (1750-1801) to baptize our beloved mountains with the name we know.

The particular rocks are formed from dolomite. It is a sedimentary rock carbonate formed mostly from the dolomite mineral, or the combination of a double carbonate of calcium and magnesium.

The sedimentation occurred as a result of a process occurred on the seabed, known as process lithogenetic.

Due to the lowering of the water, cliffs emerged through the work of tectonic phenomena, and they formed the faults that caused the deformation and overlapping rocks.

They followed earthquakes, tsunamis and landslides on its way to the orogenic process, about 75 million years ago, when the gradual approach of the African continent to the European caused crushing of the material and the raising of the Alpine


The Door of the Dolomites

Val Gardena is located in the north-west of the Dolomites. It is the perfect destination to enjoy the mountains during the summer. Besides the natural beauty that distinguishes it, it has a special charm due to the influence Ladin. La Selva, Santa Cristina and Ortisei Laion make this fantastic place is a popular destination for many people.

Val Badia is crossed by the Rio Gadera and inhabited mainly by Ladin. It consists of two areas: Alta Val Badia, formed in turn from Corvara and Badia and Bassa Val Badia including La Valle, San Martino and Marebbe. Included in this valley Monte Campiglio 2190 m, Giogo di Colletto 2189 m, Monte Muro 2332 m.

The Val d’Ega is located south-west of the Dolomites and covers an area of 250 km².

The area is covered with pine forests and is bordered to the north with the Schlern and the sensational mountains of the Rosengarten and the Latemar massif. Thanks to step Yoke can get to the mountains of Val d'Ega: Zanggen, Horn Black and White Horn. Within this valley is located the beautiful Lake Carezza, just 20 km from Nova Ponente.

The Latemar is an impressive mountain that, thanks to its majesty, attracts many tourists every year and especially climbing enthusiasts.

Her name is the source Ladin and means "crest of Lake Carezza" presents peaks white and is characterized by the presence of a few wooded areas. Belong to this massive Cimon Latemar Latemar Towers and the Tower Christomannos.

The Catinaccio Mountains is located between the valley of Tires, Val d'Ega and the Val di Fassa.

The whole area is crossed by numerous paths and trails that allow you to discover the terrirorio, and to reach the well-known Vajolet Towers and the clear lake of Antermoia.
We suggest a ride on the cable car to admire the stunning scenery.